What am I afraid of?

When I first started to write here at Leap Taken, I wanted to share the leaps I had taken over the years. These leaps led me to self discovery. I learned that allowing fear to take over will keep you rooted in an undesirable life. I also learned that whenever I feel resistance to a new situation, it’s good to ask myself, what am I afraid of… because my resistance is usually driven by fear.

In order for me to feel balanced and whole, I have to settle any lingering, pesky fears. For instance, once we moved across the country I knew there were going to quite a few unknowns along the process. We can plan, but the universe can also have something else in mind. There was a time that I would have been so over come with fear of not knowing, I probably wouldn’t have moved at all.

Releasing the fear that holds you back from living the life you desire is key. First, you have to know what you’re afraid of. Remember, fear is usually irrational and doesn’t have a solid basis. This is why it’s good to expose fear to the light of day. Second, examine the fear. Does it make sense? I’m guessing it’s just a worst case scenario playing over and over again in your mind. What if I fail? What if it doesn’t work? What if they don’t like me?

I decided if my thoughts lead to a bunch of “what if’s” followed by some self defeating thought, then it’s my fear talking.

I have a worst case scenario worksheet that helps to process fears that won’t let up.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑